Slide background

Our Story

People always ask me how our unique school was born. The story of our school goes back almost 20 years, when a close friend had a baby girl, Brenda, who was born deaf. It was a devastating diagnosis – and so hard for them to comprehend that their precious new baby would never hear a murmured ‘I love you’, would never whisper secrets with friends would never sing and laugh. The excitement and hope of a new baby quickly faded as they pictured a bleak future for their daughter.

The options back then were limited. In fact, most children with hearing loss never learned to speak clearly, nor could they take part in the world around them.

As an audiologist and speech pathologist, I knew that it didn’t have to be this way. I was determined that not only Brenda, but every child with hearing loss and auditory processing difficulties, be afforded the opportunities they deserved.

With limited resources, but lots of determination, I started a school in my home with seven children that would offer them unlimited opportunities, and has since become the largest such school worldwide.

While we have grown rapidly, our personal approach has never changed. We pride ourselves in maintaining close-knit relationships with our students and their families, who become part of our Strivright family for life.

As for Brenda – she recently received her Master’s degree from an accredited college, and today she sings, dances, laughs, and enjoys close friendships, thanks to Strivright!

Pnina Bravmann

Our History

Strivright-The Auditory Oral School of New York (AOSNY) was founded in 1999 by Dr. Pnina Bravmann, a highly trained expert in the field of Audiology and Speech Pathology. Over the past 15 years, Strivright-AOSNY has helped well over 5,000 children, and we continue to make miracles happen every day.

Strivright services children that have hearing impairments, speech and language delays, and difficulty with auditory processing. The primary function of Strivright is to teach children to succeed, and to enable them with skills that will allow them to listen, talk, think and socialize well with others.

The goal is to successfully prepare children for their world and mainstream children to their neighborhood schools by their Kindergarten school year. Strivright provides unparalleled services to over 700 children throughout New York annually and gives them the key to an unlimited future!

In its early years, the school operated out of three small buildings and a classroom trailer.  Currently, Strivright occupies a state of the art multi-story building, which allows us to service children in a clinical, educational-oriented, and acoustically appropriate environment.  Today, Strivright is the largest preschool and early intervention program in the entire country for children with hearing impairment or auditory processing disorders.

Contact Info

Program Director
Pnina Bravmann, AuD, CCC/SLP-A, TSHH, SAS, LSLS Cert AV-T
Tel: 718 531 1800 x 4759
pbrav@Strivright.org

Evaluations/Intake
Brenda Stein
Tel: 718 531 1800 x 6
bstein@Strivright.org

SEIT Supervisor
Ilana Yeger
718-531-1800 ext. 4803
iyeger@strivright.org

SEIT Supervisor

Leah Schuss
718-531-1800 ext. 4810
leahs@strivright.org

Audiology
Esther Hurley, AuD, CCC-SLP/A
Tel: 718 531 1800 x 4780
ehurley@strivright.org

Audiology
Elaine Devora Jacobs, AuD, CCC-A, FAAA
Tel: 718 531 1800 x 4780
edevora@strivright.org

STARS After-School Program
Samantha Shakarchi
718-531-1800 ext. 4759
sshakarchi@strivright.org

Teacher Supervisor
Frumi Goldman
Esti Kaplan

Speech Supervisor
Breindy Rosenblatt, M.S., CCC-SLP
718 531 1800 ext. 4881
brosenblatt@Strivright.org

PT/OT Supervisor
Hadassah Finkelstein P.T.
718 531 1800 ext. 4705
hfinkelstein@Strivright.org

Service Coordinator Supervisor
Sheila Lependorf
718-531-1800 ext. 4870
slependorf@strivright.org

Service Coordinator Supervisor
Reisy Freidman
718-531-1800 Ext. 4872
rfreidman@strivright.org

Transportation
Shaindy Birnbaum
718-531-1800 ext. 4824
sbirnbaum@strivright.org

Psychologist
Jackie DeGroat, M.S.Ed., Psy.D.
Tel: 718 531 1800  ext. 4885
jdegroat@Strivright.org

Administrator
Ari Klainberg
718-531-1800 ext. 4831
ari@strivright.org

Director of Professional Development
Michele Bornfeld, M.A., CCC-SLP
718-531-1800 ext. 4825
mbornfeld@Strivright.org

Development
Zc Fishof
718-531-1800 x 4861
zc@strivright.org

Marketing & Parent Programs
Tzippy Rieder
718-531-1800 x 4864
tzippyr@strivright.org